La Porte, TX: San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site

After reading a Texas Bucketlist article on my Facebook feed, I wanted to check out the tallest stone memorial structure in the world: the San Jacinto Monument.

It’s located across the USS Texas Battleship. I went on a weekday so parking wasn’t difficult. It’s 570 foot tall with a 34 foot star on top. It’s dedicated to the people who fought in the Battle of San Jacinto and all who helped in the independence of Texas from Mexico.

It costs 4 bucks to get up the observatory. There’s a special exhibit and a documentary film about the battle, which also costs 4 bucks each. I just opted for the observatory and the free exhibit. The observatory is 489 feet high. There’s only one elevator and it’s manned by a personnel. The observation room was small. There are several windows for look out and tower viewers. I think I stayed there for less than 5 minutes.

Then checked out the free exhibit located at the base of the monument. They have relics  from the ancient people of Mixteca Puebla, Maya, and Zapotecs; as well as preserved artifacts from the battle. I think it’s worth to see once and learn about the history of Texas.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star